Kilshannig Claim Division 3 League Title   15/06/2017

Division 3 Football League 
Kilshannig 2-07 Clyda Rovers 0-04

Kilshannig claimed the Division 3 Football League title with a deserved win over Clyda Rovers at a wet and windy Buttevant on Friday evening last. The difficult conditions made for a low scoring encounter and despite playing against the elements in the opening period, two first half goals left Kilshannig in a commanding position at the break, 2-4 to 0-3. While Clyda struck the first two points Kilshannig took control thereafter with Kevin McMahon, Richie Ryan and Kevin O'Flynn all excelling. Colm O'Dea and James O'Hanlon found the net while O'Dea and man of the match Denis Clogan added points to move 7 in front at half time. Clyda had a point within seconds of the restart but it proved to be their only score of the half as Kilshannig remained dominant. They missed several opportunities to extend their lead but they did finish strongly with Dermot Twomey and Pa Cronin pointing to seal a comprehensive victory.

Scorers for Kilshannig: C O'Dea 1-3 (0-2 free), J O'Hanlon 1-0, D Clogan, K McMahon, D Twomey, P Cronin 0-1 each.

Kilshannig: J Murphy; D McAuliffe, I Twomey, G Timoney; K McMahon, M Sheehan, C Casey; D Clogan, B Guerin; K O'Flynn, R Ryan, J Quinn; D Twomey, C O'Dea, J O'Hanlon.

Subs: P Cronin for J Quinn, D McCarthy for D Twomey, E Browne for C O'Dea, V Kiely for J O'Hanlon, C Nagle for K O'Flynn.

Player Profile

Denis McCarthy
Denis McCarthy Profile