U21s Complete County Double   07/11/2017

Kilshannig 2-18 Sarsfields 2-11

Kilshannig completed a remarkable double when defeating Sarsfields in the County U21 B Hurling Championship Final at Pairc Ui Rinn last Saturday evening, It crowned a superb year for the U21's adding the title to the county football title won earlier in the year. It was a deserving win for Kilshannig and despite a slow start, they were the better team once they settled. The excellent Cian Darcy, who finished with 2-6, pointed for Sars within seconds of the throw in while Kevin O'Flynn replied minutes later with his first free of the evening. It was a cagey opening quarter with slippery conditions making it difficult for hurling and few scoring opportunities. Kilshannig though were dominating in key areas and O'Flynn, captain Dermot Twomey and Kieran Twomey pointed from play to push their side 0-6 to 0-3 in front. Kilshannig's defence gave little away in the opening period led superbly by Joseph Cronin and Jack Kearney and they moved further ahead before half time. A minute before the break, the excellent Colm O'Shea found Jerome Murphy who fired low to the net for the opening goal and an Eoin O'Sullivan point followed to leave Kilshannig 1-9 to 0-3 ahead. 

Sars though battled back and broke through the Kilshannig defence with Darcy getting a goal and a point in quick succession to cut the deficit to six. Kilshannig reacted well though with Kearney on target before Diarmuid O'Sullivan set up Dermot Twomey for Kilshannig's second goal. Despite a second goal for Darcy, points from O'Shea, O'Sullivan and O'Flynn kept Kilshannig eight in front with 15 minutes remaining, 2-15 to 2-07. While Sars threatened a late comeback as they reduced the lead to five in the closing stages, Kilshannig remained in control with O'Flynn completing the scoring to seal a historic triumph.

Scorers for Kilshannig: K O'Flynn 0-11 (0-10 frees), D Twomey 1-1, J Murphy 1-0, J Kearney 0-2, K Twomey, E O'Sullivan, C O'Shea, Diarmuid O'Sullivan 0-1 each.

Kilshannig: J Lyons; B Curtin, J Cronin, D Taylor; E O'Hanlon, J Twomey,J Kearney; C Murphy, C O'Shea; K O'Flynn, E O'Sullivan, K Twomey; Diarmuid O'Sullivan, D Twomey, J Murphy.

Subs: C McMahon for J Murphy, Darragh O'Sullivan for Diarmuid O'Sullivan, T Brennan for K Twomey, C Sexton for E O'Sullivan.

Player Profile

Trevor O'Regan
Trevor O'Regan Profile